Where do Vata, Pitta and Kapha Come From

Where do Vata, Pitta and Kapha Come From

To act in the material world a soul (Atman) needs a material body, which is comparable with clothes or a car. We use them but it is wrong to identify ourselves with them. When our car stops working properly we buy a new one without much regret. True us is the soul which never dies. It has lived innumerable times in thousands of material and non material  forms. It is said that there are 8,400,000 forms of living beings in our planetary system; 400,000 of them possess intellect.The purpose of soul’s embodiments is to recall her true source. As soon as she realizes that her home is the spiritual world the chain of births and deaths stops.

Three innate qualities of a soul are:

SAT – Eternity

CIT (CHIT) – Knowledge

ANANDA – Bliss

We can recognize these qualities in our everyday consciousness:

Eternity. Despite of seeing other people die all around us we can’t believe we personally will die. That is because deep in the soul we know our immortal nature.

Knowledge. Deep inside we instinctively know how to act in tune with all creation. The simple law was formulated many times and says: Treat others the way you’d like to be treated. This knowledge makes us ashamed when we act immoral.

Bliss. The soul remembers living at place where is no suffering. That’s why we never get used to pain and misery. We feel we belong somewhere else.

When a soul becomes embodied to function in the material world those three qualities appear as Prana, Tejas and Ojas. Together they generate and sustain human life.

Sat        -             Eternity     -  Prana

Chit       -            Knowledge –  Tejas

Ananda -             Bliss           -  Ojas

Undisturbed Vata is Prana or life force. Prana is the energy which inspires life to persist in the body and mind. It enters the body at first breath and leaves at death.

Undisturbed Pitta is Tejas or all kind of transformation. This is our inner fire that illuminates the mind and senses at subtle level and governs digestion at physical level.

Undisturbed Kapha is Ojas, vigor or stability. This is our physical and mental endurance. Ojas is the source of immunity and strength.

All these energies are interrelated.  Prana is strength that comes from Ojas after  it has been kindled into Tejas. At the other hand Prana as the moving force naturally releases heat and light that is Tejas. Tejas as transformation force produces the essence of Ojas.

When a new life is born, soul gets into contact with the material semen of  father and the gross body is built. All information about physical body is already written on the hard disc of the subtle body which accompanies soul in all material lives and can’t be destroyed. A new body is built in accordance with our past desires and the desires of others towards us. See also The law of Karma, Time-the most powerful force, Cycles of Material World, Vedas on Cosmos, Vedas on Money.

At the time of conceiving  five primordial elements of material world (space, air, fire, water and earth) are enliven by the life force of the soul. Those elements become Vata, Pitta and Kapha, a unique combination of elements to better serve our body’s needs. Vata, Pitta and Kapha in pure forms are not doshas. Unfortunately it is almost impossible to keep them that way. Dosha literally means “something that is prone to get disturbed”. It is dosha’s nature to ebb and flow, rise and fall back to norm again and again. Disease occurs only when we ignore the common sense and our constitution. See Ama-the root of all diseases.

TODAY’S TIP: I find it practical to see the  doshas as sails. We can sail our boat (body) in direction we need (health) only when we constantly adjust the sails to the current condition. Sometimes we use the sails in full, sometimes we need to lower them, or put them all the way down. Sometimes it is clever to use oars when we need to be extremely careful when sailing in shallow waters with reefs. But it is absolutely possible to keep afloat.

This entry was posted in Introduction to Ayurveda, Life Style, Your Dosha. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply